Close Trigger

Sub Domains

Mobile Utility

Header Holder ( No sticky)

Header Top

Header Right

Header Bottom

Mobile Toggle (don't delete it )

Sticky Header

Logos

Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College

Academics Links

Landing Navigation

Breadcrumb

Continuing Legal Education

Gratz Legal banner

This program was cancelled.

Thursday, December 8, 2022
10:00 am - 12:15 pm ET
Online and in-person

Gratz College
7605 Old York Road

1 substantive  / 1 ethics
$36/credit hour
Auditors attend both for $25

All online CLE participants must keep cameras on.

Join us as we offer two CLE courses on fascinating and timely constitutional topics:

10:00 am - 11:00 am
Chabad Menorahs and the American Public Square
Dr. Zev Eleff
In the 1970s, Americans of all types noticed the appearance of "Chabad Menorahs" in public spaces throughout the United States. The Jewish Hasidic (sometimes called Lubavitch) group had launched a campaign to furnish and mount large, multipronged candelabras to increase awareness of the Hanukkah festival during America's busy wintertime holiday season. While the Christian Right supported the placement of Christmas trees in the public square and welcomed the Jewish contribution to its cause, liberal leaders associated with the American Civil Liberties Union and most Jewish groups opposed Chabad’s seasonal initiative. They argued that Menorahs were a religious item and therefore violated the “Establishment Clause” canonized in the First Amendment. Moreover, Jewish groups explained that Chabad had threatened the very tenet of American life that had made the Jewish experience in the United States so “exceptional,” compared to life in Europe—namely, Church-State separation. Ensuing legal battles in the 1980s raised the matter to the Supreme Court. All told, the episode shines a light on the dynamics of American Jewish life and how its various stakeholders found partners and parallels to influence the wider American faith community.   

11:00 - 11:15 am
Break

11:15 am - 12:15 pm
A Legal Analysis of the YU Pride Litigation: What Are the Issues and Who Might Win?
Michael J. Broyde
Berman Projects Director, Center for the Study of Law and Religion, Emory University School of Law

Yeshiva University is currently in ligation over whether it must host a YU Pride club that it feels is contrary to the religious values of the institution.  This CLE will examine this litigation to explain the issues and ponder the various possible resolutions.

Michael J. Broyde is professor of law at Emory University School of Law, the director of the SJD Program, and Berman Projects Director at the Center for the Study of Law and Religion at Emory University. He is also a core faculty member at the Tam Institute of Jewish Studies at Emory. His primary areas of interest are law and religion, Jewish law and ethics, family law, and comparative religious law. Read More.

CLE Materials

More information: Mindy Cohen, 215-635-7300 x155, mcohen@gratz.edu 

Gratz Event Calendar

July 2024
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6
Sun, Jul 7
Mon, Jul 8
Tue, Jul 9
Wed, Jul 10
Thu, Jul 11
Fri, Jul 12
Sat, Jul 13
Sun, Jul 14
Mon, Jul 15
Tue, Jul 16
Wed, Jul 17
Thu, Jul 18
Fri, Jul 19
Sat, Jul 20
Sun, Jul 21
Mon, Jul 22
Tue, Jul 23
Wed, Jul 24
Thu, Jul 25
Fri, Jul 26
Sat, Jul 27
Sun, Jul 28
Mon, Jul 29
Tue, Jul 30
Wed, Jul 31
Thu, Aug 1
Fri, Aug 2
Sat, Aug 3
There are no events to display