Close Trigger

Sub Domains

Mobile Utility

Header Holder ( No sticky)

Header Top

Header Bottom

Mobile Toggle (don't delete it )

Sticky Header

Logos

Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College

Academics Links

Landing Navigation

Breadcrumb

THE SOL FEINSTONE MEMORIAL LECTURE ON THE MEANING OF FREEDOM:

Nazi War Criminals in America

The Historic Forty-plus Year Effort to Bring Them to Justice

Elizabeth Holtzman headshot

Nazi War Criminals in America:
The Historic Forty-plus Year Effort to Bring Them to Justice

Presented by the Hon. Elizabeth Holtzman
Wednesday, June 16, 2021
7:30 PM ET Online 

Nazi war criminals came to the US in large numbers after WWII, generally hiding their murderous activities from US authorities and the public.  Former US Representative Elizabeth Holtzman, became the first member of Congress to expose their presence in the US and institute measures, including a new law, to bring them to justice.  Her talk will recount that historic effort.

Free program

register here

About Elizabeth Holtzman
During her four terms as a U.S. Congresswoman, the Honorable Elizabeth Holtzman captured national attention for her role on the House Judiciary Committee where she voted to impeach President Richard Nixon, and questioned President Ford about the Nixon pardon; chaired the Immigration and Refugees Subcommittee (where she co-authored with Senator Ted Kennedy the Refugee Act of 1980); co-founded the Congressional Caucus for Women’s Issues; and wrote many laws, including extending the deadline for ratifying the Equal Rights Amendment and the Rape Privacy Act. She was the first member of Congress to expose the U.S. government’s inaction on Nazi war criminals living in America and spearheaded the effort to bring them to justice. When elected, she was the youngest woman to be elected to Congress, a record she held for 42 years.

Gratz Event Calendar

February 2023
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Jan 29
Mon, Jan 30
Tue, Jan 31
Wed, Feb 1
Thu, Feb 2
Fri, Feb 3
Sat, Feb 4
Sun, Feb 5
Mon, Feb 6
Tue, Feb 7
Wed, Feb 8
Thu, Feb 9
Fri, Feb 10
Sat, Feb 11
Sun, Feb 12
Mon, Feb 13
Tue, Feb 14
Wed, Feb 15
Thu, Feb 16
Fri, Feb 17
Sat, Feb 18
Sun, Feb 19
Mon, Feb 20
Tue, Feb 21
Wed, Feb 22
Thu, Feb 23
Fri, Feb 24
Sat, Feb 25
Sun, Feb 26
Mon, Feb 27
Tue, Feb 28
Wed, Mar 1
Thu, Mar 2
Fri, Mar 3
Sat, Mar 4