Close Trigger

Sub Domains

Mobile Utility

Header Holder ( No sticky)

Header Top

Header Bottom

Mobile Toggle (don't delete it )

Sticky Header

Logos

Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College

Academics Links

Landing Navigation

Breadcrumb

"MAKING AN IMPACT" WEBINAR SERIES:

Jews, Genes, and the Black Death

Miniature by Pierart dou Tielt illustrating the Tractatus quartus bu Gilles li Muisit

Miniature by Pierart dou Tielt illustrating the Tractatus quartus bu Gilles li Muisit (Tournai, c. 1353).

Jews, Genes, and the Black Death

Inaugural webinar of the "Making an Impact" series

Wednesday, May 19th at 7:30 pm (ET) online
By invitation only for members of the Hyman Gratz and L'Dor V'Dor Giving Societies 
RSVP to Mindy Cohen at mcohen@gratz.edu

This webinar for members of Gratz giving societies features Dr. Paul Finkelman, Gratz College president and historian, and Dr. Kathryn A. Glatter, a Harvard-trained physician and student in Gratz’s Holocaust and Genocide Studies Ph.D. program. They will lead a discussion about Jews and pandemic based on their recently published article, “Jews, Genes, and the Black Death” (Jewish Review of Books, February 7, 2021), in which they pose a fascinating, scientific-historical hypothesis about how genetic science can change our understanding of historical events – and debunk age-old myths.

The program also includes a presentation by Dr. Ruth Sandberg, Leonard and Ethel Landau Professor of Rabbinics, who will share the vision for Gratz’s newly launched Center for Holocaust Studies and Human Rights. As its founding director, Dr. Sandberg takes on a major leadership role in expanding opportunities for graduate study in fields that address the universal human problems of hatred, bigotry, religious intolerance, inequality, and violence.
 

To renew your Hyman Gratz Society membership for 2021 or make a legacy gift, go to www.gratz.edu/giving or contact Naomi Housman, Director of Institutional Advancement at nhousman@gratz.edu.

Gratz Event Calendar

October 2022
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Sep 25
Mon, Sep 26
Tue, Sep 27
Wed, Sep 28
Thu, Sep 29
Fri, Sep 30
Sat, Oct 1
Sun, Oct 2
Mon, Oct 3
Tue, Oct 4
Wed, Oct 5
Thu, Oct 6
Fri, Oct 7
Sat, Oct 8
Sun, Oct 9
Mon, Oct 10
Tue, Oct 11
Wed, Oct 12
Thu, Oct 13
Fri, Oct 14
Sat, Oct 15
Sun, Oct 16
Mon, Oct 17
Tue, Oct 18
Wed, Oct 19
Thu, Oct 20
Fri, Oct 21
Sat, Oct 22
Sun, Oct 23
Mon, Oct 24
Tue, Oct 25
Wed, Oct 26
Thu, Oct 27
Fri, Oct 28
Sat, Oct 29
Sun, Oct 30
Mon, Oct 31
Tue, Nov 1
Wed, Nov 2
Thu, Nov 3
Fri, Nov 4
Sat, Nov 5