Close Trigger

Sub Domains

Mobile Utility

Header Holder ( No sticky)

Header Top

Header Right

Header Bottom

Mobile Toggle (don't delete it )

Sticky Header

Logos

Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College

Academics Links

Landing Navigation

Breadcrumb

RABBI ADMIRAL AARON LANDES LECTURE SERIES

An American Chaplain in Buchenwald

Rafael Medoff headshot

An American Chaplain in Buchenwald

Rafael Medoff, Ph.D.
Founding Director
David S. Wyman Institute for Holocaust Studies

Wednesday, February 9, 2022
7:00 PM ET Online 

When Rabbi Herschel Schacter signed up as a chaplain in 1942, he expected to spend the war assisting Jewish GIs with their religious needs. But when his unit liberated the Nazi concentration camp of Buchenwald, Schacter was thrust into the role of helping survivors rebuild their shattered lives and serving as their voice to the world. The riveting story of how the Holocaust transformed one rabbi—and how he, in turn, transformed the future of American Jewry.

Free program

Dr. Rafael Medoff is an American professor of Jewish history and the founding director of The David Wyman Institute for Holocaust Studies, which is based in Washington, D.C. and focuses on issues related to America's response to the Holocaust. He is the author or editor of 16 books about American Jewish history, Zionism, and the Holocaust. His first book, The Deafening Silence: American Jewish Leaders and the Holocaust, was published in 1987 by Shapolsky Books, the U.S. division of the Israeli publisher Steimatzky. His essays and reviews have appeared in many scholarly journals.

Gratz Event Calendar

May 2022
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, May 1
Mon, May 2
Tue, May 3
Wed, May 4
Thu, May 5
Fri, May 6
Sat, May 7
Sun, May 8
Mon, May 9
Tue, May 10
Wed, May 11
Thu, May 12
Fri, May 13
Sat, May 14
Sun, May 15
Mon, May 16
Tue, May 17
Wed, May 18
Thu, May 19
Fri, May 20
Sat, May 21
Sun, May 22
Mon, May 23
Tue, May 24
Wed, May 25
Thu, May 26
Fri, May 27
Sat, May 28
Sun, May 29
Mon, May 30
Tue, May 31
Wed, Jun 1
Thu, Jun 2
Fri, Jun 3
Sat, Jun 4