Close Trigger

Sub Domains

Mobile Utility

Header Holder ( No sticky)

Header Top

Header Right

Header Bottom

Mobile Toggle (don't delete it )

Sticky Header

Logos

Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College

Academics Links

Landing Navigation

Breadcrumb

THE ELIZABETH T. AND ABRAM P. PIWOSKY MEMORIAL LECTURE IN JEWISH EDUCATION:

How Do American Jewish Children Think About Israel?

Sivan Zakai portrait

How Do American Jewish Children Think About Israel?
with Sivan Zakai, Ph.D.

Sara S. Lee Associate Professor of Jewish Education at the Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion
April 27, 7:30 pm ET Online

How do Jewish children in the U.S. think, feel, and learn about Israel? And how ought the adults who love children—their parents, grandparents, educators, and clergy—talk with them about Israel in developmentally appropriate ways? Drawing upon the first longitudinal study of American Jewish children's thoughts about Israel, this talk will spotlight how Jewish children develop an understanding of Israel and its relationship to American Jewish life, illuminating how children's ideas, beliefs, and opinions about Israel evolve as they grow.  

Sivan Zakai is the Sara S. Lee Associate Professor of Jewish Education at the Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion in Los Angeles. In addition to directing the Children's Learning About Israel Project and co-directing Project ORLIE: Research and Leadership in Israel Education, she serves as a senior editor of the Journal of Jewish Education and as a member of the faculty at the Mandel Teacher Educator Institute. Her book, My Second-Favorite Country: How American Jewish Children Think About Israel, received the 2022 National Jewish Book Award in education and Jewish identity. 

register here

Gratz Event Calendar

May 2024
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Apr 28
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Wed, May 1
Thu, May 2
Fri, May 3
Sat, May 4
Sun, May 5
Mon, May 6
Tue, May 7
Wed, May 8
Thu, May 9
Fri, May 10
Sat, May 11
Sun, May 12
Mon, May 13
Tue, May 14
Wed, May 15
Thu, May 16
Fri, May 17
Sat, May 18
Sun, May 19
Mon, May 20
Tue, May 21
Wed, May 22
Thu, May 23
Fri, May 24
Sat, May 25
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1
There are no events to display