Close Trigger

Sub Domains

Mobile Utility

Header Holder ( No sticky)

Header Top

Header Bottom

Mobile Toggle (don't delete it )

Sticky Header

Logos

Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College

Academics Links

Landing Navigation

Breadcrumb

The Czech Scroll Story: from WWII to the Diaspora

Lois Roman

Event Info

The Czech Scroll Story: from WWII to the Diaspora 
Presented by Lois Roman, trustee, Memorial Scrolls Trust
Sunday, September 12th, 2021, 2:00-3:00 p.m.

A series of miracles allowed a huge hoard of Czech Torah scrolls to survive the devastation of the Shoah and stand as a testament to the communities that perished. The Memorial Scrolls Trust is committed to maintaining the legacy of these scrolls by dispersing 1400 of them around the world on permanent loan from our collection. To those who were entrusted with the scrolls, they are a symbol of hope as well as sorrow. The hope pushed forward an ongoing mission. We believe these Czech scrolls should be reinstituted in Jewish life as a memorial to the vanished communities which once treasured them. The Memorial Scrolls Trust bears witness to the fulfillment of this hope. Let us teach our children about the world of miracles and let us use the scrolls to remind people about what binds them together everyday.
 

Lois Roman is a Trustee of the Memorial Scrolls Trust (MST), and serves as the US Representative based on the East Coast. The Memorial Scrolls Trust is a London based non-profit which oversees the legacy of 1,564 Czech Torah scrolls that survived the Shoah. After a miraculous story of survival, these scrolls arrived in London and were dispersed on permanent loan to caring communities around the world. Lois began her involvement with the MST several years ago following a long career on Wall Street as a money manager. She has a degree from Brandeis University and an MBA from Columbia Business School. She is currently working on a Master of Arts degree in Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Yeshiva University.

The program will be presented on Zoom  Dr. Joseph Davis, professor of history at Gratz College will serve as host.  As host, Prof. Davis will introduce the presenter and facilitate the Q&A session with Ms. Roman following her presentation.

Gratz Event Calendar

February 2023
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Jan 29
Mon, Jan 30
Tue, Jan 31
Wed, Feb 1
Thu, Feb 2
Fri, Feb 3
Sat, Feb 4
Sun, Feb 5
Mon, Feb 6
Tue, Feb 7
Wed, Feb 8
Thu, Feb 9
Fri, Feb 10
Sat, Feb 11
Sun, Feb 12
Mon, Feb 13
Tue, Feb 14
Wed, Feb 15
Thu, Feb 16
Fri, Feb 17
Sat, Feb 18
Sun, Feb 19
Mon, Feb 20
Tue, Feb 21
Wed, Feb 22
Thu, Feb 23
Fri, Feb 24
Sat, Feb 25
Sun, Feb 26
Mon, Feb 27
Tue, Feb 28
Wed, Mar 1
Thu, Mar 2
Fri, Mar 3
Sat, Mar 4