Close Trigger

Sub Domains

Mobile Utility

Header Holder ( No sticky)

Header Top

Header Bottom

Mobile Toggle (don't delete it )

Sticky Header

Logos

Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College
Gratz College

Academics Links

Landing Navigation

Breadcrumb

An Evening of Honor and Remembrance in Commemoration of Yom HaShoah

hands in unity

THE INAUGURAL EVENT OF THE FOUNDING STAKEHOLDERS CAMPAIGN FOR THE CENTER FOR HOLOCAUST STUDIES AND HUMAN RIGHTS AT GRATZ COLLEGE

Gratz College invites you to a special program commemorating Yom HaShoah and honoring extraordinary individuals whose leadership, advocacy, and scholarship have significantly advanced Holocaust education and human rights in the world. This event kicks off a campaign to cultivate a community of stakeholders invested in the growth and sustainability of the Center for Holocaust Studies and Human Rights at Gratz College.

Learn more about the Founding Stakeholders Campaign here.

Thursday, April 28, 2022  
6:30 PM (ET) Online

KEYNOTE ADDRESS

Presented by The Honourable Irwin Cotler
Isaacman Distinguished Visiting Professor in Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Gratz College

"The Holocaust Genocide and Human Rights: Universal Messages for the Preventing and Combatting of Mass Atrocity in Our Time”

The Honourable Irwin Cotler is Founder and International Chair of the Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights, Canada's Special Envoy on Preserving Holocaust Remembrance and Combatting Antisemitism, member of the High Level Panel of Legal Experts on Media Freedom, Emeritus Professor of Law at McGill University, international human rights lawyer, and counsel to prisoners of conscience. He is a former Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and longtime Member of Parliament.

PERFORMANCE OF THE MANDELL FANTASY

by Ronna Zallman Honigman, Gratz alumna
Honigman based this original composition on the liturgical themes of the late Cantor Eric Mandell, a Holocaust survivor whose music library is housed at Gratz College

PRESENTATION OF THE GRATZ MEDAL

Honoree: Violet P. Zeitlin
Assistant Director, Gratz College Holocaust Oral History Archive and Gratz Alumna
Award presented by Josey Fisher, Director of Gratz College Holocaust Oral History Archive

For nearly a quarter century of volunteer service to the Gratz College Holocaust Oral History Archive dedicated to preserving memory and the voices that tell history so its lessons may never be forgotten; for authoring and editing collections that illuminate key artifacts from the Archive and provide readings for the classroom and commemorative ceremonies; for supporting the Archive director and volunteers who have worked tirelessly on the Archive for over forty years.

register

Gratz Event Calendar

October 2022
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Sep 25
Mon, Sep 26
Tue, Sep 27
Wed, Sep 28
Thu, Sep 29
Fri, Sep 30
Sat, Oct 1
Sun, Oct 2
Mon, Oct 3
Tue, Oct 4
Wed, Oct 5
Thu, Oct 6
Fri, Oct 7
Sat, Oct 8
Sun, Oct 9
Mon, Oct 10
Tue, Oct 11
Wed, Oct 12
Thu, Oct 13
Fri, Oct 14
Sat, Oct 15
Sun, Oct 16
Mon, Oct 17
Tue, Oct 18
Wed, Oct 19
Thu, Oct 20
Fri, Oct 21
Sat, Oct 22
Sun, Oct 23
Mon, Oct 24
Tue, Oct 25
Wed, Oct 26
Thu, Oct 27
Fri, Oct 28
Sat, Oct 29
Sun, Oct 30
Mon, Oct 31
Tue, Nov 1
Wed, Nov 2
Thu, Nov 3
Fri, Nov 4
Sat, Nov 5